Officers elected and awards presented at PATU’s 2020 Annual Meeting

For the first time ever (and possibly the last) our 2020 PATU Annual Membership Meeting was conducted via Zoom teleconference on September 19. We had 65 participants representing 43 of our 49 chapters statewide.

The following officers were elected to serve one-year terms, effective October 1, 2020.

President – Greg Malaska
Executive Vice President (Eastern PA) – Bobby Hughes
Executive Vice President (Western PA) – Lenny Lichvar
Secretary – Open
Treasurer – Russ Thrall
Northeast Regional Vice President – Russ Thrall
Northcentral Regional Vice President – Bob Volkmar
Northwest Regional Vice President – Kelly Williams
Southwest Regional Vice President – Bryan Mathie
Southcentral Regional Vice President – Russ Collins
Southeast Regional Vice President – Brenda Bittinger
NLC Representative – Brian Wagner

Our PATU Annual Awards were presented to the following chapters and individuals whose good works exemplified our mission, “to conserve, protect, restore and reconnect Pennsylvania’s coldwater fisheries and their watersheds.”

Best Chapter Project (Plantation Park – Phase 1) – Neshannock Chapter
Best Small Chapter (under 150 members) – Adams County Chapter
Samuel Slaymaker Best Newsletter (Susquehanna Ripples) – Susquehanna Chapter
Best Chapter Website ( – Chestnut Ridge Chapter
Doc Fritchey Award for Outstanding Coldwater Conservationist (TU Member) – Richard Lewis
Outstanding Coldwater Conservationist (Professional) – Luke Bobnar
Outstanding Volunteer Award – Tracey MacAfoos
Dr. Jack Beck Award for Outstanding Youth Outreach – Judi Sittler
Ken Sink Award for Outstanding Service to PATU – Bob Volkmar
Inky Moore Award for Outstanding Contributions to PATU’s Conservation Mission – Rachel Kester

A special Lifetime Achievement Award in the form of a framed Ned Smith “Sting of the Hook” print was presented to Ken Undercoffer whose long-time service to Council included a term as Secretary, two terms as President, and most recently as Vice President of the Northwest Region.

President Greg Malaska addressed the “State of PATU,” Program Director Rachel Kester discussed the Coldwater Heritage Program, TU Mid-Atlantic Policy Director Jennifer Orr-Greene reviewed her advocacy efforts in PA, and National TU CEO Chris Wood covered a wide range of topics to round out what we believe was a very efficient and effective meeting.

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the Author